How Much Does a Real Estate Agent Website Cost in Toronto? IDX, DDF & Lead Costs Explained
Direct answer: Most Toronto custom realtor websites fall between $6,000 and $10,000 in published 2026 Toronto ranges, plus about $99 per month for hosting and maintenance, while hosted builders cost about $69.99 to $89 per month before taxes and board fees. Live listing search is separate: it depends on board and brokerage eligibility, not on design alone.
Contents
- What counts as a real estate agent website in Toronto?
- How much does a Toronto real estate website cost?
- What drives the price up or down?
- IDX, DDF, and VOW explained in plain words
- What eligibility and approval actually require
- Solo agent, team, or brokerage: what each actually needs
- How to compare quotes without getting misled
- Mistakes that cost Toronto agents money
- What Gamma Agency can and cannot do
- Frequently asked questions
- Author
- Related posts
- Start with a free demo
- Sources
What counts as a real estate agent website in Toronto?
A realtor website helps a specific agent or team turn searches into conversations. A buyer should understand who the agent serves, where the agent works, and how to start a conversation without guessing. A seller should see how homes are presented and how to ask for an evaluation.
The core is small: a home page stating areas served; a search route honest about what it shows; neighborhood pages for areas truly served; buyer and seller pages answering different questions; and a contact route that works on a phone. Every page must identify the brokerage clearly and prominently, using the exact registered brokerage name, because in Ontario a website is advertising. Your broker of record governs the exact wording. Never let a designer invent a short form of the brokerage name.
The pages buyers and sellers actually use
Buyers use search, saved homes, alerts, and neighborhood detail. Sellers use presentation, pricing guidance, and marketing detail. Both use trust signals that can be checked: live links to real work, a clear contact route, and consistent business details. Claims that cannot be checked, such as a ranking promise, are warning signs.
What live search means and what it does not mean
Live search means a visitor can search current listings from a board feed, updated on a board schedule. It does not mean every home will appear, or that sold prices will appear. A vendor embed may place search pages on the vendor system, not your domain. Decide first what search must do: show only own and brokerage listings, show public area search, or run a login-gated portal.
How much does a Toronto real estate website cost?
Published 2026 ranges split into two shapes: a monthly hosted builder, and a one-time custom or semi-custom build with separate hosting, care, and feed costs. Compare the three-year total, before tax, with domain, board fees, and vendor fees added.
| Route | Upfront or build cost | Ongoing monthly cost | Three-year total, before tax | What is typically included | Watch out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted builder: myRealPage | No setup fee stated in the comparison check | $69.99 per month, plus taxes and board fees for certain boards; currency not stated | $2,519.64, plus domain, taxes, and board fees (36 x $69.99) | Hosted site, board feed connection where supported, support; domain not included | You rent the site. If you stop paying, the site and feed connection go with it. |
| Hosted builder: RealtyNinja | No setup fee stated in the comparison check | $89 per month or $928 per year, plus $9 per month DDF data fee on boards served through DDF; currency not stated | $2,784 annual, or $3,108 with the DDF data fee; $3,204 monthly, or $3,528 with the DDF data fee | Hosting, board feed connection where supported, free setup and migration as stated by the vendor | Domain not included. |
| Custom agency build: Toronto range | $6,000 to $10,000 in the Macroblu Toronto guide, currency as published | Hosting and maintenance from about $99 per month in the same guide | Worked example: $9,564 to $13,564 before taxes and feed fees ($6,000 to $10,000 plus 36 x $99) | Custom design and build for a realtor, team, or small brokerage, as scoped | Feed, vendor subscription, content, and hourly changes are separate unless named. |
| Semi-custom agency build: Canada bands | $3,000 to $10,000 upfront in CAD (BrokerFold, July 26, 2026); $3,000 to $15,000 upfront in CAD (AgentEdge, October 19, 2026) | $50 to $250 per month in CAD (AgentEdge), plus extra integration work | Worked example: $4,800 to $24,000 before tax and domain, before feed fees | One-off custom design, hosting and maintenance as scoped, changes often billed hourly | The wide range reflects scope. A low-end quote with no feed or care is a different product. |
Sources: Artbits Solutions, prices checked on vendors own pages on October 4, 2026; Macroblu, Toronto guide as published in 2026; BrokerFold, bands compiled July 26, 2026, in CAD unless marked; AgentEdge, published October 19, 2026, in CAD before tax. Re-check each vendor page before budgeting.
Vendor subscriptions sit on top of a build when not included. Figures re-checked in August to October 2026 put Showcase IDX at $94.95 per month for Essentials and $124.95 for Premium, no setup fee stated, plus MLS pass-through fees of $0 to $33 per month by board. IDX Broker published Core at $60, Engage at $99, and Elite at $149 per month, plus an unnamed one-time setup fee to be asked for in writing.
See the site before you pay anything. Gamma Agency offers a free demo of the website to everyone, so you can review the actual design before you move forward. The free demo covers the website design demo. Vendor subscriptions, board and data fees, and feed-approval work are separate and client-paid. Send your brokerage, areas served, and what the site must do, and Gamma Agency will reply with scope and a quote, usually within 24 hours. Start your project or message on WhatsApp You can also email info@gammaagency.site.
What drives the price up or down?
Price follows scope, not page count. Custom design costs more than a template because every page type is designed for your content and tested on phones. Listing search is the largest driver: a hand-updated featured section is a design task, while live area search with sync, refresh, removal of off-market listings, and required badges is a data task with ongoing maintenance. Content is the hidden cost: original text for each area and answers to buyers first questions, checked for facts. Lead capture and care need a named owner after launch: a form, a message route you check, hosting, security, and feed monitoring.
IDX, DDF, and VOW explained in plain words
IDX, DDF, and VOW are different permission systems, not three names for the same thing. Using the wrong name in a quote or plan can mean building for a feed you are not eligible to receive.
IDX (Internet Data Exchange) is the United States system under National Association of Realtors Policy Statement 7.58. It lets participants in a multiple listing service authorize limited display of each others listings on sites under the participant control. The participant is the broker member of the service. An agent displays IDX data through that broker, where the local service allows it and the broker consents. Each service adds local rules on top of the national floor, so the local rulebook governs.
DDF (Data Distribution Facility) is the Canadian system run by CREA, behind REALTOR.ca distribution to other websites. It is permission-based. Brokerage participation is optional. A salesperson can participate only if the brokerage participates, or has opted in to permit its salespeople to participate, and the salesperson opts in through the DDF Dashboard before any feed is pulled. Under the June 2026 CREA policy, content must refresh at least once every 24 hours and stale content must be removed.
VOW (Virtual Office Website) is a password-protected brokerage site or feature where registered consumers with an established broker-consumer relationship search fuller data under broker supervision. It can carry deeper data for registered consumers, such as sold prices and history, varying by brokerage and service. VOW-only data must never appear on a public page.
| System | Where it applies | Who can use it | What it shows | Key surprise |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDX | United States, NAR Policy 7.58 and local MLS rules | MLS-member broker; agents through that broker where allowed and consented | Limited display of other participants listings, refresh at least once every 12 hours under the national floor | Local MLS rules are stricter and govern approval. |
| DDF Member Website Feed | Canada, CREA DDF Policy and Rules | CREA member salesperson whose brokerage opted in, via DDF Dashboard | Only the salesperson and/or brokerage listings, for their own Member Website | Participants must not share DDF credentials with a Technology Provider or anyone else. |
| DDF National Shared Pool | Canada, CREA DDF Policy and Rules | Participants contributing all MLS listings unless a seller instructed otherwise, via Dashboard opt-in | Other participants listings, filtering only on objective criteria | Maximum 10 websites per participant; Powered by REALTOR.ca display rules apply. |
| VOW | United States and Canada, separate VOW policy and local rules | Brokerage with a signed VOW agreement and registered consumers | Deeper data for registered consumers, including sold and history fields as allowed | Public pages must not carry VOW-only data. |
The June 2026 CREA policy requires every DDF listing to display the Powered by REALTOR.ca logo linking to the REALTOR.ca listing, the listing brokerage name and provincially required information in readable text, CREA watermarks on photos without alteration, and trademark and responsibility statements on every page.
What eligibility and approval actually require
Eligibility comes before design. No designer or vendor can grant board approval. For Toronto, the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board (TRREB) route runs through PropTx, and the exact agreement and vendor route must be confirmed with the brokerage and board for that site. Answer these before a feed build is quoted:
- Name the board or boards. The board decides the regime, agreements, and approved vendor routes.
- Confirm membership and brokerage permission: CREA membership, brokerage opt-in, and Dashboard permission, including the channel; or, in the United States, participation through the broker participant and broker consent.
- Name the Broker of Record and get written confirmation. The Broker of Record confirms permission and signs the board or vendor agreement.
- Confirm any existing feed or vendor: whether the subscription is active, whether the new domain is named in the agreement, and whether the vendor confirmed coverage for that board and channel in writing.
- Decide what data is needed: own listings only, public area search, or a login-gated portal.
- Separate the money: who pays the vendor subscription and board fees monthly, and what happens to search if a subscription ends.
- Supply exact compliance text from the brokerage: registered name, registrant name and title, logo, trademark statement, and terms of use. Your broker of record governs consent rules for sold advertising.
Under CREA Rule 5(j)(iii), participants must not share DDF credentials, including usernames and passwords, with a Technology Provider or any other party. A Technology Provider has a data access agreement with REALTOR.ca Canada Inc. to operate a site on behalf of a participant. Access is designated through CREA process. Gamma Agency never asks for, receives, stores, or uses DDF credentials. If a lead offers them, decline and redirect to designation through the brokerage and CREA.
"Live property search depends on your board and brokerage eligibility — not on the website design alone. If you are a CREA member whose brokerage has opted in through the DDF Dashboard, or a TRREB brokerage with a signed PropTx data agreement, we can build your site around the approved feed route for your board, including a vendor embed where that is the approved option for your site. Gamma does not supply the listing feed, does not handle your DDF credentials, and cannot guarantee board approval — the feed, vendor subscription and any board data fees are separate from the website build and are confirmed with your brokerage and board before we quote a feed build."
A vendor embed is the most common conditional route: the vendor holds the feed, Gamma Agency designs the surrounding site and places the embed, charging only for design and integration time, with vendor and board fees separate. It is possible only when the vendor confirms coverage and embed capability in writing. A custom API integration is a separate backend project, never inside a free demo or fixed build scope.
Solo agent, team, or brokerage: what each actually needs
A solo agent needs local knowledge and easy contact. Live search helps only if the agent is eligible and willing to pay ongoing vendor and board costs. Many solo agents do better with an explain-only site, manual featured listings from brokerage information, and links to an existing portal. A team needs clear lead routing and brokerage identification on every member page, without implying the team is its own registered entity. A brokerage needs governance: control of name, logo, trademark, and terms on every page, rules for publishing and editing listings, and a named owner for feed freshness and compliance. Build the enquiry path first, then add search only when eligibility, budget, and maintenance are confirmed.
How to compare quotes without getting misled
Ask every provider for written answers to: three-year total before tax with every recurring bill named; feed route named in full, including board, channel, vendor, and refresh schedule; ownership of design, content, domain, and data if you leave; content scope and revision rounds; compliance elements and who supplies exact text; lead path and who receives each enquiry; care scope; and exit terms, including content export. If a provider promises board approval, a live-feed date, or compliance certification, pause. Boards grant approval; brokerages carry compliance responsibility.
Mistakes that cost Toronto agents money
Buying search before eligibility is proven is the costliest mistake. Assuming a hosted builder and a custom build are the same product is the second: they differ in ownership, where pages live, and what happens on exit. Copying listings, photos, or text from a portal is the third: DDF content must not be scraped or copied. Hiding brokerage identity to look independent is the fourth. Treating one monthly price as the whole budget is the fifth. Accepting a ranking, lead, or citation guarantee is the sixth: no provider can guarantee those outcomes.
What Gamma Agency can and cannot do
Gamma Agency works remotely with clients in the United States and Canada, building web development and SEO services for realtors and small businesses. For Toronto and GTA realtors, Gamma Agency can honestly offer today an explain-only website built around a listing feed, with neighborhood and buyer and seller content, local search foundations, and lead capture. The free demo applies to this build, to everyone, and covers the website design demo only. Gamma Agency can coordinate a conditional vendor-embed route after eligibility answers and written vendor confirmation. It does not supply a feed, handle DDF credentials, hold CREA Technology Provider or PropTx vendor status, or guarantee board approval. One real estate example is the Subhan Developers website. It is not a Toronto or GTA client project and must not be read as proof of a Toronto feed build. No result, ranking, or lead figure is claimed for any portfolio site here.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a real estate agent website cost in Toronto?
A custom build falls in published 2026 Toronto ranges of $6,000 to $10,000, plus hosting from about $99 per month, before taxes and feed fees. Hosted builders cost about $69.99 to $89 per month before taxes and board fees, totaling about $2,520 to $3,528 over three years by billing and board fees.
Do I need IDX or DDF on my realtor website?
You need a feed route only if you need live area search on your own site. Many solo agents start well with an explain-only site and links to an existing portal. Public area search needs board and brokerage eligibility first.
Can Gamma Agency supply my listing feed or handle my DDF login?
No. Gamma Agency does not supply a feed and does not handle DDF credentials, which participants must not share with a Technology Provider or anyone else under CREA Rule 5(j)(iii). Access is designated through CREA process after brokerage opt-in via the DDF Dashboard. Gamma Agency can build around the approved feed route, including a vendor embed where approved.
Is a hosted builder or a custom build cheaper over three years?
Neither is always cheaper. Hosted builders total about $2,520 to $3,528 over three years before taxes, domain, and some board fees, and you rent the site. Custom builds total about $9,564 to $13,564 from build plus hosting alone, before feed, vendor, content, and hourly costs. The cheaper route depends on scope, ownership, and feed needs.
How long does it take for live search to go live?
No designer can promise a date, because approval and access are set by the board and vendor. Vendor guides report days to weeks, with wide variation. Confirm timing with your board and vendor, and do not pay for feed work before eligibility is confirmed.
What happens if my brokerage has not opted in to DDF?
The feed route cannot proceed until the brokerage opts in and gives permission through the DDF Dashboard, and you opt in as required. A website build can still proceed as an explain-only site with neighborhood content, buyer and seller pages, and lead capture, with links to your existing portal.
Author
Hamid Mumtaz is the owner of Gamma Agency. Gamma Agency works remotely with clients in the United States and Canada, building business websites, e-commerce stores, and landing pages, with SEO, Google Ads, and Meta Ads services, and $500+ ad spend managed as stated on the portfolio page. See more work at Hamid Mumtaz portfolio.
Related posts
- How Much Does a Small Business Website Cost in the US and Canada in 2026?
- Shopify vs WooCommerce for a US and Canada Small Store: Cost, Fees, and What to Choose
- Local SEO and Google Business Profile for US and Canada Service Businesses: The Complete Starter Guide
Start with a free demo
Gamma Agency offers a free demo of the website to everyone. Review the actual design before you move forward, and move forward only if you like what you see. The free demo covers the website design demo. Vendor subscriptions, board and data fees, and feed-approval work are separate and client-paid. Gamma Agency prices by quote only. Send your brokerage, areas served, and what the site must do through the contact form, by email at info@gammaagency.site, or by WhatsApp, and Gamma Agency will reply, usually within 24 hours. Start from the Gamma Agency homepage to see the full range of services.
Sources
- Macroblu, "How Much Does a Real Estate Website Cost in Toronto? (2026 Pricing Guide)" — $6,000 to $10,000 and hosting from about $99 per month, as published in 2026, currency as published. https://macroblu.com/article/how-much-does-a-real-estate-website-cost-in-toronto-2026-pricing-guide/
- Artbits Solutions, "Best Realtor Website Builders in Canada (2026)" and "Real Estate Website Cost in Canada (2026)" — myRealPage $69.99 and RealtyNinja $89 or $928 per year plus $9 DDF fee, checked October 4, 2026, currency not stated. https://artbits.solutions/blog/posts/best-realtor-website-builders-canada
- BrokerFold, "Realtor website cost (Canada)" — bands compiled July 26, 2026, CAD unless marked. https://brokerfold.com/websites/realtor-website-cost-canada
- AgentEdge, "How Much Does a Real Estate Agent Website Cost in Canada? (2026)," October 19, 2026 — $3,000 to $15,000 upfront and $50 to $250 per month, CAD before tax. https://agentedge.ca/blog/real-estate-agent-website-cost-canada
- CREA, DDF Policy and Rules, June 2026, official PDF via CREA support, and CREA DDF support page — opt-in, refresh, display, and credential rules. https://support.crea.ca/DDF and https://support.crea.ca/Areas/DDF/Content/DDF(R)%20Policy%20and%20Rules%20June%202026%20ENG.pdf
- Reaplex, October 14, 2026, and MLSImport, prices re-checked August 20, 2026 — Showcase IDX and IDX Broker monthly prices and pass-through fees. https://reaplex.com/idx-website-cost/ and https://mlsimport.com/mlsimport-vs-showcase-idx/
